One week does not a lifestyle make

Posted: May 3, 2011 in Thoughts, Uncategorized, weight loss
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

There are so many potential ways to get tripped up while losing weight.  There are two in particular that will come up again and again on your journey.  When you don’t lose any weight you will want to quit, and when you put in a hard week and lose  a good amount of weight you will want to relax and take a few days off.  Either of those things can throw you off-balance and ruin your diet. 

There was a time when I was really going at this weight loss thing.  I had been eating well and lifting weights for about five weeks.  My results were exciting and every week I was more dedicated and pushing myself harder.  I decided to eat perfectly and work out as hard as I could.  I stayed off the scale so at the end of the week I could bask in my success.  When it came time to weigh myself I was hungry and my body was exhausted from the beating I had put on it.  I felt like crying when I saw that I had gained a pound and a half.  That was it for me.  My heart was out of it.  I tried but could never harness that fire again.  That is the all or nothing style of dieting. 

Losing a lot of weight can give you the same result.  A woman from Weight Watchers challenged me to lose more weight than her over the week.  Being a competitive guy I went at it full steam.  It had nothing to do with the idea of losing to a girl.  It didn’t.  Shut up.  So I pushed hard and ate very little.  My weight loss was eight pounds.  She lost sixteen.  I don’t know how.  She wasn’t looking so good at the meeting.  But I was still happy.  Eight pounds is pretty extreme.  I’d done good.  So when I grabbed McDonald’s on the way home I didn’t feel so bad.  I deserved a yummy pat on my chubby back. The next day I ate fast food again, telling myself that this was the last time.  I ate well the next day but followed that up with a pizza.  I’d lost it.  Again.  I patted myself on the back all week long with fast food, pizza, and desserts.  I couldn’t stand eating healthy when there were so many delicious alternatives.  When I weighed-in that week I had gained nine pounds.  All my work erased, plus a pound.  I didn’t go back for over a month. 

Don’t throw everything you have into one week.  One week is basically meaningless.  This isn’t a sprint, it’s a marathon.  Nobody cares if you burst off the line and blow past the pack only to pass out in the gutter a mile down the road.  Find that happy medium and try to live in that space.  When you can do that you can just let time pass and the results will take care of themselves.  I’ve lost over five pounds in a week at Weight Watchers many times.  But the older ladies who lose a pound a week are killing me in total weight loss.  They are the tortoise to my hare.  So that’s what I’m trying to do.  Just making small changes, staying comfortable, and finding my stride.

Leave a Reply

